Bhavan's Faith

Let me once more set forth the Bhavan's faith for the benefit of new students and members, for it is necessary that they should understand it clearly and imbibe its spirit. The Bhavan stands for the reintegration of Indian Culture. In a world falling pieces under the impact of an amoral technological avalanche, it tries to hold fast to the fundamental values for which our culture stands :


FAITH in God who forms the Cosmic Order;

TRUTH which is a cord between mind, word and deed;

DEDICATION which offers all movement of life as an offering to God;

SUBLIMATION which purifies the body and mind and transmutes instincts, passions and emotions into things of beauty.This regardless of form and doctrines is Dharma, the three fold aspects of which are SATYAM, SHIVAM, SUNDARAM - Truth, Love and Beauty. For these values our forefathers lived and died. So did Sri Ramakrishna Paramahamsa, Swami Dayananda, Swami Vivekananda, Gandhiji and Sri Aurobindo among moderns. These values are embedded in our national outlook. We command the respect of the world because of them. We can look forward to the future with confidence only because they have the vitality which gives the power to vindicate their validity even in this fear-and-avarice ridden age of ours. We must make every effort in restoring an awareness of these values in personal and collective life.

K.M. Munshi


Honorary Members
His Holiness The Dalai Lama
Prince Charles
Hrh The Prince Of Wales
*Dr. S. Radhakrishnan
*Swami Chinmayananda *Shri J.R.D. Tata
*Swami Akhandananda *Shri Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
*Swami Ganeshwarananda *Dr. Zakir Hussain
*Dr. Rajendra Prasad *Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
*Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel *Dr. V.V. Giri
*Sh. Jaya Prakash Narayan *Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru
*Shri C. Rajagopalachari *Rev. Mother Teresa
*Sh. Morarji Desai *Shri G.D. Birla
Executive Committee
President Hon. Treasurer
Sh. Surender Lal G. Mehta Sh. I.R. Khandwala
Vice-President Hon. Director

Mm. Prof. J.H. Dave
Justice Sh. B.N. Srikrishna Members
Executive Sec. &
Director General
Sh. G.K. Sundaram
Sh. H.N. Dastur Sh. Banwarilal Purohit
Hon. Secretaries Sh. Deepak S. Parekh
Sh. Mukul A. Sonawala Sh. Avnish Mehta
Sh. Kirtidev Munshi Smt. Anjana A. Sonawala